top of page

From Blah to Decent

Nate and I realized quickly that even though we had a good amount of mini figures, it still wasn't enough. And to make it worse, we just didn't have enough enemies to fight. So, we went online and bought a large pack of prepainted mini figures. We knew they wouldn't look fantastic when we bought them, but we needed them so we did it anyway. Well, when we got them, they looked even worse than we thought. So, just to test it out, I messed with these two figures just a little to see what would happen. I know they still don't look the best with the end result, but they look better than they did before. I hope you like the transformation.




This first one is an elven archer, and this is a picture of the mini the way we got it. As you can see, all you can say for it is that has color. Nothing stands out and the face and the hair blend together. You can even see that the colors bleed between different items. For example, the green of the leggings is also on top of the boots. It just doesn't look super great.










Here, all I did to change this mini was go in with a wash and add it on top of the paint that was already there. Though this mini still doesn't look as good as it would if it had been painted all the way from scratch, it at least has definition and you can see the face and the hair are separate. It may not look the best, but it least looks better than it used to.









This is the second mini that I messed with. You can see with this mini that it it very bland. The tone of the bones is really not that different from the gray used on the the helmet, armor, and weapon. It's just very boring and I didn't like how it looked at all. With the first mini, I just added a wash, partially to see if it would stick and also to help it look better. I did a little more with this one.







I decided to paint the other pieces of this mini to help them stand out but also to see if the paint would stick, as well as adding a wash on top. I think it looks so much better this way, and though I think it could have made it look even better, this is a good option to use instead of just the bland and ugly way that it came. If you like content like this, keep coming back to this blog, I plan to share a lot more. And if you like TTRPG's and haven't yet, check out our YouTube channel, Neko-Maoh Games, as well as our Facebook page of the same name, and Instagram @nekomaohgames.



If you want to check out our YouTube Channel, you can find it here:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page