top of page

First Mini on My Own

The next mini that I wanted to share is the first mini that I painted by picking out the colors all on my own. A little backstory, Nate has had some of these minis for a long time. I think the earliest date on the bottom of one of these is 2008 (as they have the year they were printed on the bottom), and they have been plain white for quite a long time, so I've been trying to paint the earlier ones first as they are less detailed. And they've been around longer so they don't deserve to be naked (of paint, get your mind out of the gutter). I know this isn't my best mini to date, but for figuring out how to do it on my own, I think it turned out rather well.



This mini is a little messier than I would like. I would say she is a ranger, rogue, or fighter of some kind. I gave her darker colored clothing with the idea that a rogue, or even a ranger, would want to blend it with the background. You can see my attempt to give her eyes and to color her lips. It didn't turn out too badly. And the skin tone is actually not a color I had yet, so I had to mix to get this color. I'm surprised at how good it looks.






I was still trying to figure out how to do the highlighting, which is actually a lot harder on black than you would think. It, again, looks a bit messy, but not awful. Overall, I'd say I'm pretty pleased with this mini, being the fact that I was just guessing for most of it.




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page